Plagiarism in the largest possible way…

Take a look at this:

http://www.oraclesource.net/exams/articles/10g/OracleDB10gR2RACInstallationOnCentos4UsingVMware.html

You’ll notice that this a complete copy of my website. Pratically the only thing that has changed is the articles now say, ” Hope this helps. Regards Ankit…”, rather than, ” Hope this helps. Regards Tim…”. This is totally unbelievable! He’s even used my home page:

http://www.oraclesource.net/exams/index-2.html

I’ve written an email to the guy in question telling him to remove this stuff immediately.

If anyone out the would like to voice heir opinion on this matter I suggest you email him at enquiries@oraclesource.net

This is unbelievable!

Tim…

Update: I’ve contacted the guys service provider, detailing the copyright infringement. Let’s see if they stick to their copyright infringement policy and remove this stuff!

Update2: I’ve sent a few more emails based on some suggestions in the comments for this post. Google Adsense are now investigating the violation of their Ts&Cs. Hopefully, this guy will have his Adsense account closed. In addition to his hosting company, I’ve contacted the owner of his IP address detailing the issue. This company claims to take these matters seriously, so let’s see what happens…

Comments 15

  1. Andy C wrote:

    Words fail me. I am genuinely speechless.

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 12:08 pm
  2. APC wrote:

    Well they say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

    This little parasite really has been thorough, haven’t they. They’ve even swiped your site’s favicon. Their global search’n'replace missed this bit in the DBA scripts page – “the file oraclebase.esp produced by James Wang of Gudu” so I guess they don’t know how to use regexp :)

    The global editing has broken most of the navigation links but I could download the DBA.ZIP files. The scripts have Dr Timothy Hall as the author and Oracle-Base URL in them.

    Still, larceny of a grand scale. Commiserations.

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 12:16 pm
  3. APC wrote:

    Oh, and if you have a look at their version of the Blog Aggregator page you’ll find out when the crime was committed.

    Cheers, APC

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 12:20 pm
  4. Tim... wrote:

    Hi.

    Check out the page source and you can see exactly when it was done and what tool he used:

    \”Mirrored from http://www.oraclesource.net/articles/10g/OracleDB10gR2RACInstallationOnCentos4UsingVMware.php by HTTrack Website Copier/3.x [XR&CO\'2005], Thu, 08 Jun 2006 11:52:01 GMT\”

    Not even a clever thief.

    Cheers

    Tim…

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 1:21 pm
  5. x wrote:

    …but as I can see there are many your articles stolen…

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 2:28 pm
  6. Tim... wrote:

    Yeah. The whole website has been ripped.

    Cheers

    Tim…

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 2:50 pm
  7. Thomas Kyte wrote:

    This happens all of the time. I find my pages copied verbaitim with the exception of say the sqlplus prompt – where they global change tkyte to their name.

    I find them, complain about them and sometimes they get corrected.

    If you search long and hard enough, you’ll probably find e-copies of your book for download for free as well.

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 2:58 pm
  8. a wrote:

    I’d suggest the administrative contact listed by whois:

    Patel, Ankit oracleguru@hotmail.com
    136 Elizabeth Ave Iselin, NJ 08830
    ,
    United States
    +1.2128447079

    Of course, that could be fake. See also http://www.databasejournal.com/features/oracle/article.php/1447581

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 6:27 pm
  9. Pete Finnigan wrote:

    Hi Tim,

    I see that he has google ads, I would suggest that you report him to google and ask them to remove him from their index. That way his copying will not serve any purpose as he will get no ads revenue and also will get hardly any visitors.

    cheers

    Pete

    Posted 26 Jul 2006 at 10:45 pm
  10. Aman wrote:

    WOW!!Now thats what we call a DITTO COPY!!

    Posted 27 Jul 2006 at 5:19 am
  11. Tim... wrote:

    a: Yes. I’ve written to him already, but if you check out the articles you will see it is Ankit who has perpetrated the crime!

    Pete: I shall send an email to google this morning.

    Cheers

    Tim…

    Posted 27 Jul 2006 at 6:47 am
  12. Bill S. wrote:

    As Bluto said in “National Lampoon’s Animal House” :
    [quote]“They took the site! The whole {expletive} site!”.[/quote]
    OK, he said BAR not SITE but it still fits. ;-D

    The pinnacle of laziness and rudeness. I can’t imagine how difficult it is to give attribution where it is duly deserved *sarcasm dripping*. Then again, I don’t have a web site so I’ll probably never know, but I can sympathize with you all the same.

    The wanker – let us know how this turns out.

    Posted 27 Jul 2006 at 6:02 pm
  13. Ian Murphy wrote:

    Not a lot to add that hasn’t already been said. This sort of thing is just crapness personified. On the plus side, if you visit his link the “account has been suspended”.

    Cheers,

    Ian

    Posted 28 Jul 2006 at 9:46 am
  14. Tim... wrote:

    It appears justice has been served. I hope the guy cleans up his act and gets back in the game.

    Cheers

    Tim…

    Posted 28 Jul 2006 at 10:19 am
  15. Yaz Okulu wrote:

    does anyone knows if there is any other information about this subject in other languages?

    Posted 24 Mar 2008 at 6:31 am

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *