primary and standby database are not sysnc

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby royalyogi » Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:19 pm

we are getting below error on alert log file in logical standby database from May 2013
Kindly let us know how can find time of sequence creation and how can restore these sequence redo files and sysnc databases primary and standby


Snipped of alert log:Wed Jun 10 15:29:40 2013
Fetching gap sequence in thread 1, gap sequence 62079-62178
Wed Jun 10 15:29:50 2013
Fetching gap sequence in thread 1, gap sequence 62079-62178
Wed Jun 10 15:30:01 2013
Fetching gap sequence in thread 1, gap sequence 62079-62178
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby Tim... » Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:49 pm

Hi.

Query the v$archived_log view on the primary database to find the archived redo logs you are missing. Manually move those to the standby database and wait for it to apply them.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17950
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby royalyogi » Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:53 pm

we have deleted the archive log files from primary and we don't have archive files in standby also.
Kindly let us know how can restore those log sequence from primary database(from scn)?
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby Tim... » Wed Jul 10, 2013 4:52 pm

Hi.

You can't. To fill the gap you have to have the missing archived redo logs. If you can't get them from a backup, your only options is to recreate the standby.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17950
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby royalyogi » Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:01 pm

Yes, Tim I am also planning to re create the standby database. It is really great help if you give the steps or link to re create standby database.

Thanks Tim for help
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby Tim... » Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:38 pm

Hi.

There isn't really a concept of "recreate". You just scrap the old one and do a conventional create.

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/11g ... -11gr2.php

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17950
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby royalyogi » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:10 pm

Thanks a lot Tim for your great help. One more question:

Asked my senior why can't perform the expdp on logical standby database since expdp will read the data.But they are not able to give the asnwer. Kindly let us kow why can't perform the expdp on standby database why need to do only primary database?
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby Tim... » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:38 pm

Hi.

You can do an export from the standby if you do one of the following:

- Open it up as read-only, do the export, and turn back on managed standby.
- If it is using Active Dataguard.
- Open it up as read-write, do the export, flashback database to the time before the open read-write, turn back on managed recovery.
- Use snapshot standby before doing the export. Same as previous point, but more automated.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17950
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby mail.madhankumar » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:41 am

Hi Tim and royalyogi,
Why should we recreate Standby database for just missed archived log files.. instead of recreating standby .
We can do Incremental backup and controlfile then we can restore it.. it is easy method...

you have to take backup using SCN Number. 1st you check scn number on standby . then you take incremental backup on primary server based on that SCN Number and create controlfile.
restore controlfile and restore backup. that's it. it will become sync.
mail.madhankumar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: primary and standby database are not sysnc

Postby Tim... » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:22 pm

Hi.

Yes. I guess so.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17950
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK


Return to Oracle Database Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron