How to refresh standby database from primary database

All posts relating to Oracle database administration.

Moderator: Tim...

How to refresh standby database from primary database

Postby royalyogi » Sat Nov 16, 2013 4:29 pm

How to refresh physical standby database from primary database using rman
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: How to refresh standby database from primary database

Postby Tim... » Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:20 pm

Hi.

Sorry. I don't understand the question. What do you not just run a managed recovery and let it catch up?

Has your primary been completely recreated or something? If so, then you will need to recreate your standby from scratch.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17933
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: How to refresh standby database from primary database

Postby royalyogi » Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:50 am

Because of the some reason business asked to keep shutdown the standby database for 8 months. Now they said, take rman backup from primary database and refresh the standby database using rman backup.

we have already tried to sync standby and primary database using scn backup but it has failed. So we need to refresh the standby database from rman backup of primary database.

Please help us on this
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: How to refresh standby database from primary database

Postby Tim... » Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:34 am

Hi.

So this is just a re-create of the standby in the normal way, using the backup.

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/11g ... -11gr2.php

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17933
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: How to refresh standby database from primary database

Postby royalyogi » Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:10 pm

Thanks Tim, I like your URL and way of giving reply
royalyogi
Senior Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: How to refresh standby database from primary database

Postby Tim... » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:46 am

:)
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17933
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK


Return to Oracle Database Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron