12c Install on VM

Questions relating to Oracle Real Application Clusters (RAC) and Clusterware.

Moderator: Tim...

12c Install on VM

Postby sivakumarocp » Fri Sep 06, 2013 12:59 pm

Hi Tim,

Is it possible to install and configure 12c RAC (two node) in on a PC (with 8G Memory, 500G HDD, Intel i5 processor)

if not, please tell me the Hard requirement to install 12c RAC (two node)
Regards
Sivakumar.A
www.sivakumardba.com
sivakumarocp
Advisor
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:53 am
Location: India

Re: 12c Install on VM

Postby Tim... » Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:04 am

Hi.

Yes, it is possible. You can either follow my instructions, or the RAC Attack ones. The RAC Attack ones are probably better for those using small amounts of memory.

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/12c ... ualbox.php
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/RAC_Attack ... Attack_12c

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17936
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: 12c Install on VM

Postby rac-newbie » Wed Dec 04, 2013 1:18 am

Hi Tim,

I'm following the steps installing 12c on Oracle Linux. I run into a problem at "ONBOOT=no" for the ifcfg-eth0 adapter.

I was not able to ping or do any nslookup.

Thanks,
David.
rac-newbie
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: 12c Install on VM

Postby Tim... » Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:02 am

Hi.

You should only be setting that for eth0, and eth0 should be your NAT adapter, so that is not being used for any connections fro your box to the VMs, or for VM-to-VM connections.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17936
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK

Re: 12c Install on VM

Postby rac-newbie » Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:08 am

Tim,

The 'ONBOOT=no' was set only to the eth0 adapter. The other adapters was untouch. Here is the info from 'ifconfig -a',

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:2D:1F:04
inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe2d:1f04/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:235560 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:89818 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:332784757 (317.3 MiB) TX bytes:5415172 (5.1 MiB)

The resolv.conf has the correct nameserver & IP, but search contain two entry of the same domain name,

'search mydomain mydomain'

Is that correct? What am I missing?

Thanks,
David
rac-newbie
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: 12c Install on VM

Postby Tim... » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:01 am

Hi.

Well, eth0 is not what you need to be looking at if it is disabled. You need to be checking eth1 and eth2, which are the way you connect to VM and the adapters for the interconnect.

Eth0 is only there to allow connections to the internet for access to the yum repository. It is not used as part of RAC.

Cheers

Tim...
Tim...
Oracle ACE Director
Oracle ACE of the Year 2006 - Oracle Magazine Editors Choice Awards
OakTable Member
OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
OCP Advanced PL/SQL Developer
Oracle Database: SQL Certified Expert
My website: http://www.oracle-base.com
My blog: http://www.oracle-base.com/blog
Tim...
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17936
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: England, UK


Return to Oracle RAC and Clusterware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests